## WESTERN RESERVE LOCAL BOARD OF EDUCATION JANUARY 5, 2017 K-12 BUILDING

## **ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING**

6:00 P.M.

The members present were Brian Benyo, Richard Blevins, Mark Halls, Melissa Potts, and Lisa Powell. Also in attendance were Superintendent Doug McGlynn, H.S. / M.S. Principal Dallas Saunders, and E.S. Principal Deborah Farelli.

Lisa Powell presided as Temporary Chairman of the meeting.

The meeting was opened with the Pledge to the Flag.

The Oath of Office was delivered to all Board Members.

Brian Benyo nominated Lisa Powell for President of the 2017 Board of Education. Melissa Potts seconded the nomination.

	B. Benyo	yes	
	R. Blevins	yes	
	M. Halls	yes	
	M. Potts	yes	
	L. Powell	yes	
The Chairman declared the motion of	carried.	-	#001-17

Brian Benyo nominated Mark Halls for Vice-President of the 2017 Board of Education. Richard Blevins seconded the nomination.

R.	Blevins yes	
	. Halls ves	
	. Potts yes	
L.	Powell yes	
B.	Benyo yes	
The Chairman declared the motion carried	ied.	#002-17

The Oath of Office was delivered to the newly elected President and Vice-President.

At this point the meeting was chaired by President Lisa Powell.

Melissa Potts moved, seconded by Richard Blevins, that the Service Fund for the calendar year of 2017 be approved in the amount of \$7,500, to be used for expenses of Board Members or their official representatives in performance of their duties while attending inservice training sessions, workshops, or conferences.

	M. Halls	yes
	M. Potts	yes
	L. Powell	yes
	B. Benyo	yes
	R. Blevins	yes
maxidant dealared the motio	m comind	•

The President declared the motion carried.

Richard Blevins moved, seconded by Melissa Potts, to authorize the Treasurer to invest
inactive funds whenever possible with the Farmers National Bank of Canfield.

	M. Potts	yes
	L. Powell	yes
	B. Benyo	yes
	R. Blevins	yes
	M. Halls	yes
e President declared the mo	tion carried	-

The President declared the motion carried.

Mark Halls moved, seconded by Melissa Potts, to authorize the Treasurer to secure tax advances on the 2017 property tax collections from the County Auditor as per Ohio Revised Code 321.34.

L. Powe	ll yes
B. Beny	o yes
R. Blevi	ns yes
M. Halls	yes
M. Potts	yes
The President declared the motion carried.	#005-17

Richard Blevins moved, seconded by Melissa Potts, to authorize the Treasurer to issue and sign checks to meet payroll and invoices in accordance with the adopted appropriation measure in effect.

B. Benyo	yes
R. Blevins	yes
M. Halls	yes
M. Potts	yes
L. Powell	yes
	•

The President declared the motion carried.

Richard Blevins moved, seconded by Melissa Potts, to hold the 2017 regular meetings of the Board of Education on the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the K-12 Building; unless otherwise notified.

R. Blevins	yes
M. Halls	yes
M. Potts	yes
L. Powell	yes
B. Benyo	yes
• 1	•

The President declared the motion carried.

Richard Blevins moved, seconded by Mark Halls, to appoint Melissa Potts to serve as the Board's O.S.B.A. Legislative Liaison for 2017; to share information with board members from OSBA about state and federal education-related legislation.

	M. Halls	yes
	M. Potts	yes
	L. Powell	yes
	B. Benyo	yes
	R. Blevins	yes
Drasidant dealared the motiv	n corriad	•

The President declared the motion carried.

#008-17

#006-17

#004-17

100 C 17

#007-17

Melissa Potts moved, seconded by Brian Benyo, to appoint Richard Blevins to serve as the Board's O.S.B.A. Student Achievement Liaison for 2017; to share information with board members from OSBA on ways to improve student achievement.

M. Potts	yes
L. Powell	yes
B. Benyo	yes
R. Blevins	yes
M. Halls	yes
a a unit a d	•

The President declared the motion carried.

#009-17

Richard Blevins moved, seconded by Melissa Potts, to adjourn the Organizational Meeting.

B. BenyoyesR. BlevinsyesM. Hallsyes		L. Powell	yes	
5		B. Benyo	yes	
M Halls ves		R. Blevins	yes	
fill Hulls Jub		M. Halls	yes	
M. Potts yes		M. Potts	yes	
The President declared the meeting adjourned.#010-17	The President declared the mee	eting adjourned.		#010-17

Lisa Powell, President

Cathy Romack, Treasurer